Happy New Year to all!

wp_20161224_006

This beautiful image of alpine plants on the Keplar trail in New Zealand’s south island was sent to me yesterday by an old nursing colleague who emigrated there some years ago. (Hi Lyn!) She thought it would be fitting for my post-yellow period!

Last week I delivered the new Frida Kahlo to Red Propeller gallery in Kingsbridge for a client in the USA. She had wantefrida-2d it to be as close as possible to the first Frida, and I have done my best, but each work is unique. The first Frida had two hummingbirds in her headdress, but No.2 has butterflies and beetles.  (I am now collecting plastic fruit for the headdress on a portrait of Carmen Miranda!)

Tiger was created earlier in the year but has not yet featured on tigermy Blog, so here he is…

 

So we have arrived at the end of 2016…      Today, there has been a record number of views to my site. I haven’t posted anything on my Blog for nearly a month and am unaware of anything new on the internet … can anyone reading this enlighten me please?!

A VERY HAPPY NEW YEAR                              TO YOU ALL!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Happy New Year to all!

  1. Martha M Rife says:

    You are such an inspiration!

  2. Happy New Year.

    Sadly these images are too small to appear in the WP Reader (its been changed). You need about 400 x 400 or more. 🙂

  3. dyemaven says:

    enlighten you? 😃 it’s a combination of your fabulous work and the magic of the internet!! spreading the word. love.

  4. Ellaine says:

    I saw that someone had shared your Frida Kahlo piece on Facebook today, and that is where I became aware of your beautiful work

  5. Patti Waltz says:

    Yep, your Frida is on facebook, with a link. 🙂

  6. babsofsanmiguel says:

    Amazingly beautiful. someone just posted Frida on my FB page and I’m enthralled. I will sign up for your blog when I find the place to do so. I live in San Miguel de Allende, Mexico, which is an artists community and more. Thanks.

  7. Hilary says:

    Marvellous! HIL

    Sent from Hilary Lazarus 0414 442414

    >

  8. Ellen Mencer says:

    I saw your work from Sue Eye who shared Arizona Gourds photo on facebook. If you search for those two, you’ll see the links. Beautiful work. A friend who passed away in 2016 made beautiful artwork with buttons. She would have loved your works. If you look up Dee Foe on fb you can see a video about her. Have an amazing 2017!

  9. Ellen Mencer says:

    apologies… the first name should be Sue EYET (I missed the ‘T’)… it’s early here!!! 🙂

  10. PacificChorusFrog says:

    As others have posted, I followed a link someone posted to a Facebook Group to view your amazing art. 🙂

  11. Nancy Erickson Dutmer says:

    Jane, Love the details on the tiger. And of course, Frida is a fave. Here’s a painting I did years back of Carmen, since you are heading her way. Keep up the good work!! Nancy Erickson Dutmer

    >

  12. Janna Rice says:

    Jane! Your work is amazing! Your eye for the details in a portrait, especially Frida! Beautiful, inspiring pieces of wonderful!

  13. Laura Dixon says:

    Like others I have seen your work again recently on FB which caused me to click on the link leading me here. I have done button work off and on for about 20 years, but much less ambitious than yours, they are fantastic! One of the problems that lead me to move on to paper collage was the glue. I have not found anything that is secure and long lasting for plastic
    . Would you mind sharing what you use?

  14. Laurie says:

    someone shared Freida on FB, so I clicked through- such a unique talent!

  15. Cat Lamy says:

    Your work is beautiful. I first saw it on FB with a post by Big Sky Quilts in Montana. Two of my friends then reposted their post. Stunning! Happy New Year.

  16. Hi Jane…your Frida Kahlo portrait was shared by a page called Folt Bolt on FB. I shared it too as I wanted my friends to see how awesome your art is, Frida is so popular these days. Your work is truly amazing!! I am currently working on a mosaic wall using broken floral china, tiles, buttons & retro bits n bobs. Have a fantastic New year! Deb 🙂

  17. doog says:

    WONDERFUL! Such attention to detail and so many varieties of buttons! Thanks for sharing!

  18. This Frida mosaic is phenomenal. Do you sell prints of it?

    • janeperkins says:

      Hi Jennifer – sorry – no
      I’m surprised this work has had such attention – I very nearly abandoned it because I wasn’t happy with how it was going
      I never considered having a proper professional photo of it taken!

  19. Dane says:

    Merci à Folt Bolt de m’avoir fait connaitre vos oeuvres. Votre Frida est merveilleuse

Leave a Reply

