New work – at last!

I have finally finished two new pieces of work – on the theme of The (Un-natural) Natural World: The King of the Beasts and Cockatoo

King of the Beasts - Copy

Cockatoo - Copy

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The mane of King of the Beasts is made up of hundreds of plastic animals. Both works will go on display in a one day exhibition – Art in the Aisles – in my local church of Kenton this weekend. After that …??

Beethoven has now been photographed and printed onto laminated aluminium (looking good!) and the next step is to film the disassembling of the original using time-lapse photography – a new process for me. The component materials will then be displayed in a clear jar (urn) alongside the print. Watch this space, as they say!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to New work – at last!

  1. SO beautiful – love them both! Do I detect a hotdog and something that looks like bar of chocolate in the King’s mane…? And a fried egg on the Cockatoo? Brilliant!

  2. Sabina Ayne says:

    These two are absolutely beautiful!! The lion is breathtaking and I love the use of shells on the cockatoo! I know its an art piece but how will you be able to disassemble Beethoven? I don’t think I would be able to do it! But I can’t wait to see the final result! Do you mind if I share these pieces on my art blog? I always link back to the original artist! I’ve share other pieces of yours before. I hope you don’t mind. If you do please let me know. Sabina https://orangemarmeladepress.wordpress.com/

  3. Pingback: Jane Perkins’ New Work | Orange Marmalade Press

  4. This is absolutely amazing! Found you through Sabina´s “Orangemarmeladepress” 🙂 May I ask how big one picture is? You´ve got such a talent and it´s awesome that you use this kind of materials! Sarah 😀

  5. Best thing I’ve seen in ages. I particularly love the lion. 🙂

  6. Rebecca Morris says:

    The cockatoo came up on my Pinterest home page, wow, WOW WOW. Can I just tell you that your work is absolutely amazing. Beautiful, cannot wait to see more. So inspirational

  7. Raquel says:

    Where did you made this to pieces of work?

  8. Deborah Lynch Edwards says:

    Absolutely mesmerizing art! I am so fascinated with all the pieces and how beautifully you put them together. How satisfying that must be for you. I do have a question and I’d be so grateful if you’d share with me what kind of adhesive do you use for your buttons? I’m just a crafter, I made an elephant using old buttons from my grandmother & mother’s button jars. It turned out pretty nice BUT the darn buttons started falling off the canvas about a month after I had it framed! I would be so grateful if you would impart a bit of your knowledge with me.
    Continued successful inspirations. Deborah

    • janeperkins says:

      Hi Deborah
      Thank you for your lovely words. How annoying that buttons fell off – and so soon.

      First – I don’t stick things to a canvas as it flexes. I have a hardwood base made by a framer.
      I use a hot glue gun initially to stick on the materials. Then when I’m finally happy, I paint a layer of PVA glue (Modpodge) over everything,
      wiping it off the surface as I go so that the glue (hopefully) goes down between the cracks. Hope this helps!
      It is my greatest nightmare that one day, everything will fall off my pictures! Jane

Leave a comment