Happy Christmas!

Father ChristmasHere’s Father Christmas, made in 2010, who has just come out for his annual airing on our living room wall, above the fire. The bobble on the hat is made from shells, but here appears too white for the shadowed corner of the image. I don’t usually add any colour to the materials I use but this has proved the exception – since this photo was taken I have dampened down the bright whiteness with a used tea bag – a great improvement!                                                          Wishing you all a very happy Christmas time!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Happy Christmas!

  1. Reblogged this on Eco Elements and commented:
    Sharing a beautiful piece of eco-art for holiday wishes.

  2. TESLbug says:

    Reblogged this on TESL bug and commented:
    Merry Christmas and best wishes for the new year!!

  3. Julie Scott says:

    Do you sell a print of Santa Claus?

  4. Stacia says:

    I love this so much! Please could you tell me the dimensions of this piece? I’m having a hard time figuring out the scale.

    • janeperkins says:

      Hi Stacia,
      Thank you! This work measures 78cm x 73cm
      I work flat on a table and have to be able to reach the middle of the work
      – the maximum size I’ve worked on is 110 x 110cm
      Best wishes Jane

  5. I love your santa. I just saw it today for the first time (on Facebook) I hope it was ok, I shared it to a mosaic site i am a part of. You should join! It’s called mosaic mentoring. By the way, everyone on there really loves it!!!

  6. vangreyheart says:

    It’s a amazing job! Merry Christimas 2015!

  7. Jack says:

    Is there any way we can purchase this Santa?

  8. Pingback: Two days before Christmas … and Still Movin’ | Claytonhill's Blog

  9. Cher Hiett says:

    One of the most incredible pieces I’ve ever seen. Your blending talent is unreal. Well done and so happy you kept it in your family. It’s a masterpiece!

  10. Looking for your fabulous Santa, & cards.

  11. Kathy Riley says:

    Hello Jane,

    I love Father Christmas. I have less than ZERO artistic ability so my question is actually about your technique and decision-making in this beautiful piece.

    What I lack in artistic ability, I excel at in OCD😂😂😂. Why is there not more space above Father Christmas’sf hat and where is the rest of his beard😱😳😱😳😱😳😱 What or how did you decide to not do a full beard?

    Thanking you in advance for the Art 101 course on incomplete images and OCD. Merry Merry, Happy Happy🎅🏽🎅🏽🎅🏽

    Take care.
    Kathy Riley

    • janeperkins says:

      Hi Kathy
      Your comment made me smile!
      It’s quite usual/fashionable to slightly crop a portrait, or even crop it more than I have, but I do understand how that might have made you feel uncomfortable!

  12. Win Dinn says:

    Such a fabulous work of art – it comes around of Facebook every year, and I love it!

Leave a Reply

