Why are noses so difficult?!

I’m currently working on a portrait of Frida Kahlo for Red Propeller Gallery, Kingsbridge. Sarah Anslow, the gallery owner, recently visited Mexico and is crazy about all things Frida! At the moment, I cannot get Frida’s nose right – more work to be done… I won’t give up the challenge!

Headdress, work in progress

Headdress, work in progress

terrible nose - work in progress!

Terrible nose – work in progress!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Why are noses so difficult?!

  1. Ali says:

    Hmm…I can see that the shadow is causing the problem – can you change the angle of the shadow so it emphasizes her philtrum and not an extension of her nose?

  2. Sabina Ayne says:

    Reblogged this on Orange Marmalade Press and commented:
    A new artwork in progress by my favorite artist!!

  3. Sabina Ayne says:

    I reblogged this on my art blog here: https://orangemarmeladepress.wordpress.com/2016/08/15/why-are-noses-so-difficult/
    I can’t wait till its finished!!

  4. Meredith says:

    Hi Jane, Meredith Stewart here! I am the home of the lovely DIANA. I just love your FRIEDA even though you are struggling with the nose. Hahah. How big is it? About the same size as my DIANA or ? How much is it? I just love FRIEDA too. Hope all is well. Meredith

    >

    • janeperkins says:

      Hi Meredith
      So lovely to hear from you! Frida is exactly the same size as Diana – I’ll let you know when I’ve finished her!
      All well here – busy! Hope all good with you too Jane x

  5. Nancy Dutmer says:

    I love love love Frida! I agree about noses. Pairing them are just as hard. Also hands. I don’t get it. I recently beaded Dolly Parton for someone and had to redo the nose a couple times too! Good luck.

  6. pilch92 says:

    This is AMAZING! I have been trying to make button collages and mine look like a 5 yr. old made them.

Leave a Reply

