Random Comment or General Point of View?

Yellow Sunflowers, inspired by Amsterdam has been hanging in the Red Propeller Gallery in Kingsbridge. On seeing the painted background, a visitor commented that I was ‘cutting corners’. This certainly was not the case but made me realize that it could be interpreted that way. So I have decided to give the piece a make-over: I have brought it home to paint the background turquoise and fill it with found objects…

The Retro Queen has also had a make-over, having recently returned unsold from London. After Alec (my framer) had removed the work from the frame, I added found materials to the background and then returned it to Alec, to be put back in the frame. His comment was that it now looked like ‘a true Jane Perkins’ – how very interesting!

Other news: I am very happy to report that The Woman in Gold sold recently at the Battersea Affordable Art Fair, and that Clive and Chris, the Golden Wedding couple, were delighted with their double portrait.

Retro Queen before

Retro Queen before

Retro Queen after

Retro Queen after

Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Random Comment or General Point of View?

  1. Anna Cull says:

    Isn’t that funny, because I really like the combination of found objects against the painted backgrounds (of this AND your sunflowers). I think it makes the artworks ‘pop’. I still quite like the ‘after’ too but now I’m curious (if it’s not an impossible question) which do you prefer, Jane?

  2. Sabina Ayne says:

    I agree, I really like the combo of painted background and found objects. Of the two, I prefer the painted background but regardless, I am still in awe of your work!

Leave a Reply

