The Woman in Gold

Recently, I started a new work, just for fun, because I love the picture.  I am re-making the portrait of Adele Bloch-Bauer by Gustav Klimt. It’s a wonderfully decorative piece, full of ‘bling’ and I’madele BB having great fun playing with the wonderful patterns on the dress and background. But the face is small and delicate… I realise I have to get it just right or the whole piece won’t work. So at the moment, it’s on hold until I work out how to do it!                   I was amazed and delighted yesterday when I heard about a new film starring Helen Mirren, just out in the US.  Called ‘The Woman in Gold’, it tells the story of this very painting: how it was stolen from Adele Bloch-Bauer’s family by the Nazis during the war and of her neice, Maria Altmann’s (Mirren) legal battle to get the painting back to her family. Can’t wait to see the film!  Issey portrait - Copy

The beautiful picture (right) is the work of GCSE Art student Issey Vogel from London, sent to me this week.       I love it!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

