Scaling Up / Scaling down

I’ve been encountering a new challenge in my current work: scale…

I’ve been working on a commission – The Fox and The Rose (from The Little Prince story) based on an original drawing by the client, a new departure for me. Working at a smaller scFox and Rose 2 - Copyale (58 x 46 cm) it has been necessary to consider the size of the individual materials – how to keep things in proportion  yet still include interesting objects . (The plastic cricketers in the fox’s breast are cake decorations from my brother’s birthday cake, aged about 9. He is now 58! (Don’t ask why I still have them!) I struggled to create a background which did not overwhelm the fox, but I think I have achieved this by using more muted colours and flatter materials, mainly buttons and broken pottery. The fox is sitting on a planet so the deep blue/black background represents deep space. There are little volcanos in the distance, as in the original illustration of the story.

Scaling up is a different issue. For a while, I’ve wanted to try a larger piece in a looser style. I’m working on a larger version of the Queen – an interesting experience as I the kind of objects I usually use don’t work at a larger size. Also, I’m already worrying about the weight of the finished work – so may have to abandon it – but at least I will have tried!

News – I have made the decision to take a break from Devon Open Studios this year. Usually, I am making work for this annual September event from Christmas onwards.        In 2015, I’d like to develop my work and be free to take up other opportunities…..

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Scaling Up / Scaling down

  1. aloefromdonna says:

    Wow, I love it 🙂

  2. Norma says:

    Your work is wonderful and you are right, along with being amazed you made me smile. Just beautiful.

  3. MichelleinScotland says:

    Love your work (found via The Inbox Jaunt), different but beautiful.

Leave a Reply

